The Czech Technical University in Prague (CTU) was established on Josef Christian Willenberg’s initiative, by a rescript (foundation deed) of Emperor Joseph I dated 18 January, 1707. For three centuries, CTU has maintained its status as a prestigious technical university. Many scientific and technical personalities have left their trace here, and I am always pleased to hear that one of our graduates has participated in some major work or product innovation.

CTU structured studies are organized in three stages (bachelor, master’s and doctoral) of separate accredited study programs that follow on from each other. Entry into a higher stage is conditional on graduating from the previous stage and passing through the acceptance procedures.The Czech Technical University in Prague is made up of the faculties stated below:

Faculty of Civil Engineering
Faculty of Mechanical Engineering
Faculty of Electrical Engineering
Faculty of Nuclear Sciences and Physical Engineering
Faculty of Architecture
Faculty of Transportation Sciences
Faculty of Biomedical Engineering
Faculty of Information Technology
The Czech Technical University is the only university in the Czech Republic which has “nuclear” departments (Department of Nuclear Chemistry, Department of Dosimetry and Application of Ionizing Radiation, Department of Nuclear Reactors) at the Faculty of Nuclear Sciences and Physical Engineering (FNSPE), but nuclear power engineering is also in part lectured at Faculties of Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Electrical Engineering.

The Faculty of Nuclear Sciences and Physical Engineering (FNSPE) was established in 1955, as part of the Charles University, but in 1959 became a new special faculty of the Czech Technical University in Prague. The establishment of the Faculty was connected with the beginning of a new era of peaceful use of nuclear energy. A complex approach to all nuclear branches was intended, therefore specialists from universities, technological institutions, and industry were brought together to comply with this task. Later, newly developed areas of physics application, e.g. plasma and solid state physics, lasers, cosmic research were included in the Faculty curricula. The Faculty is equipped with several large research facilities, such as the VR-1 training nuclear reactor, scanning electron microscopes, high power laser systems, computational and advanced radiochemical laboratories, and satellite laser ranging station.

The VR-1 training nuclear reactor is a zero power reactor and is operated by the Department of Nuclear Reactors of the FNSPE CTU in Prague. The reactor is principally used for training of students from technological universities. Training is aimed to areas such as reactor physics, neutronics, dosimetry, nuclear safety and I&C systems. The specific content of the courses is compiled according to the requirements of the teachers from various faculties. The reactor is used not only for students of Czech universities but also for students of other European universities, mainly Fachhochschule in Aachen, Technical University in Budapest, Technical University in Vienna, Slovak Technical University in Bratislava, University of Birmingham and Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm. The reactor is also involved in a number of international programs such as the IAEA technical cooperation program and training courses and the European program ENEN for the nuclear education.

CENEN – Czech Nuclear Education Network

The CENEN Association is a voluntary academic association of educational institutions offering teaching and training in the area of Nuclear Engineering. It is striving to develop and maintain a high standard of Czech nuclear edication and to reach its integration into the all-European context. CENEN was established in Prague on 3rd May 2005.